Science Forum 2018

Win more, lose less:Capturing synergies between
SDGs through agricultural research

Video credit: Peter Lowe/GENNOVATE

Maggie Gill (ISPC Chair), Jennifer Thomson (ISPC & SF18 Steering Committee Chair) and Holger Meinke (ISPC & SF18 Steering Committee Member) talk about why SF18 is special, what the CGIAR will gain and how they hope the Forum will provide a challenging environment that will stimulate discussion and get people to think beyond their comfort zone.

About Science Forum 2018

Science Forum 2018 (SF18), Win more, lose less: Capturing synergies between SDGs through agricultural research, will be held from 10-12 October 2018 in Stellenbosch, South Africa. SF18 is organized by the CGIAR’S Independent Science and Partnership Council (ISPC) and co-hosted by the South African Agricultural Research Council.

The objective of SF18 is to identify substantial interactions between the Sustainable Development Goals (both positive and negative), the role of agricultural research in augmenting synergies and managing trade-offs, and the ensuing implications for the science-policy interface. Results will contribute to the discussion of developing research themes and frameworks in CGIAR.


The Speakers

Ruth DeFries

Professor of Ecology and Sustainable Development Columbia University, New York

Adam Hunt

Global Communications, Knowledge Management, & Engagement Coordinator CGIAR Research Program on Water, Land and Ecosystems (WLE)

Shadrack Ralekeno Moephuli

President and Chief Executive Officer Agricultural Research Council (ARC), South Africa

Lindiwe Majele Sibanda

Co-Chair Global Alliance for Climate Smart Agriculture (GACSA)

Boulanouar Bouchaib

Principal Livestock Officer African Development Bank (ADB)

Holger Meinke

ISPC Member; Head, School of Land and Food University of Tasmania, Australia

Claudia Ringler

Deputy Division Director International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI)

Jacques Wery

Deputy Director General and Director of Research International Center for Agricultural Research in the Dry Areas (ICARDA)

Rodomiro Ortiz

ISPC Member; Faculty (Chair) Professor of Genetics and Plant Breeding Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences

Salman Hussain

TEEB Coordinator The Economics of Ecosystems and Biodiversity (TEEB)

Jacob Mwitwa

Associate Professor Copperbelt University, Zambia

Jean-Pascal van Ypersele

Professor of Climatology and Environmental Sciences Université catholique de Louvain, Earth and Life Institute


Science Forum 2018 is organized by the CGIAR’S Independent Science and Partnership Council (ISPC) and co-hosted by the South African Agricultural Research Council.

The ISPC is a part of the CGIAR, a global research partnership for a food secure future dedicated to achieving a world free of poverty, hunger and environmental degradation. One of the main functions of the ISPC is to provide a credible challenge function to both the funders and the implementers of CGIAR research on the overall direction and composition of the research portfolio. An essential element of this function is taking a close look at the research programs’ theories of change and their underlying assumptions, for example how the research activities of the CGIAR are expected to generate impacts. One mechanism that the ISPC utilizes to realize the challenge function is the organization of a biennial Science Forum (SF) to catalyze discussion on emerging issues of strategic importance to CGIAR, bringing in external perspectives to engage in dialogue and discussion with CGIAR stakeholders.

Four SFs have been organized to date, the last three have focused on analyzing the assumptions about how agricultural research in general, and CGIAR research specifically, can deliver impacts on each of the three CGIAR System Level Outcomes (SLOs). The 2016 SF focused on reassessing the pathways for agricultural research to contribute to reducing poverty (SLO1); whereas the 2013 SF examined the pathways from agricultural research to improved nutrition (SLO2); and, in 2011, the Forum discussed issues related to the agriculture-environment nexus (SLO3).

Steering Committee

  • Jennifer Thomson

    Jennifer Thomson

    Chair, Council Member, ISPC and Emeritus Professor Department of Molecular and Cell Biology, University of Cape Town – South Africa
  • Izabella Koziell

    Izabella Koziell

    Program Director CGIAR Research Program on Water, Land and Ecosystems - Sri Lanka
  • Leslie Lipper

    Executive Director ISPC Secretariat
  • Holger Meinke

    ISPC Council Member and Head School of Land and Food; Director, Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture – Australia
  • Bongani Ndimba

    Senior Research Manager ARC Infruitec-Nietvoorbij – South Africa
  • Virgilio Viana

    General Director Sustainable Amazon Foundation – Brazil
  • Eric Witte

    Senior International Affairs Specialist USAID – USA
  • André Zandstra

    Head, Funder & External Engagement CGIAR SMO – France
  • Preet Lidder

    ISPC Technical Lead and Ex-Officio Member - Agricultural Research Officer ISPC Secretariat